Playing Catch Up

Wow! I can’t believe that it has been so long since I have last written. I have just been sooo busy. From spending Thanksgiving with

12295282_1506861976309176_1313080274882794586_n
Mom and I played a lot of Scrabble!

my parents to Christmas here in the city, I have just had an amazing end of my year. I hope you all had as much fun as I had. This holiday season I pledged to spend my Christmas money on putting together 50 blessing bags.

Each bag was filled with essentials such as socks, gloves, water, and food. These were donated to Outreach, a local nonprofit that works with homeless teens and young adults here in Indianapolis. My housemates and I had our own Christmas a few days early before they headed home to their families. I also made cookies, pies, and fudge for the firemen next door on Christmas Day. I got to Skype with my family on Christmas morning so I was there to open gifts. Mom even got a picture of all her kids together for Christmas. Then I spent New Year’s all cozy in bed, live streaming the ball drop in New York.

It amazes me that it is already 21 days into the New Year. Here at Building Tomorrow we have been busy planning our April fundraising event. We are now asking local businesses to donate auction items so that we can raise lots of money and have an exciting evening. We are also getting ready for our board meeting as well as a big grant report we have due. So much to do this month and I wasted a week in bed sick! But I am back in business and we are pushing forward.

My housemates and I have taken on a two-week challenge. We usually eat/ buy all our food together. Since Saturday we have been making our own meals and buying our own food. We are taking a look at just how much we save by w1618671_575047100096_6958466394639632269_norking together. I am also interested to observe how we each take on our own nutrition. For Megan these first few days have been filled with finding recipes and carrying them out. I am super proud to say she has yet to burn the house down. Madison has been going with the flow and finding meals, as he is hungry. I have challenged myself to commit to the 21-Day Fix program. It is all about portion control and eating clean, unprocessed foods. It has been fun finding new recipes and getting to eat lots of veggies, including this yummy eggplant lasagna with brussel sprouts.

My eating challenge is part of my life plan. During my online course through Philanthropy University, I was asked to write up a life plan that focused on ten areas in my life. The goals were to be for 2016, 2020, and lifetime goals. With the start of the new year, I have been planning out how to accomplish these goals. From saving money to reading 500 books by 2020, I am slowly figuring out what I was to accomplish in life.

My health goal is to lose weight and be more active. My eating challenge is the start but it goes beyond that. Yesterday was day on of my Couch to 5K training. In June I will be running my first 5K. I also had a somewhat stressful day so I hid in the basement for an hour and did some Tae Bo and Tai Chi. Needless to say my legs weren’t excited for the half mile walk to work this morning.

I apologize for such a long post. I have so much to catch you up on! I will make sure to write again soon. Have a great week everyone!

One thought on “Playing Catch Up

Leave a Reply

