Raindrops Keep Fallin’ on my Head

I have written and rewritten this post five times now. What do I say? I started with the generic this is my week. I moved on to a touching piece about determination, followed by a post about Building Tomorrow. Those were followed by a blog about conflict resolution and here I sit with a blank page staring back at me. As I sit here, I can here the rain falling outside.

Rain. I think it is a good starting place for this post. After two months of being in Indy, last week was the first time I have had to walk to walk in the rain. Thanks to my Wilson College umbrella I stayed mostly dry and got to work with only a few cold toes. When it rains in Indy, the city takes on a whole new persona. Colorful umbrellas rush up and down the streets, the buses mysteriously run on time, the traffic gets louder and the lights of the city look almost magical. I love the rain. I love sitting on my porch wrapped in a blanket, drinking a hot cup of tea, and watching the world go by. But the world doesn’t go by.

What a silly phrase. Obviously the whole world cannot traverse past my house, it has better things to do. I know this because in Uganda, they too have been getting rain. At first, I am sure they enjoy it just as much as me. However, they do not get to sit on their porches and enjoy the pitter patter of the raindrops. In Guya Guya, the rain has been falling, but the work has not stopped.

As part of my job here with Building Tomorrow, I help organize the photos that get sent from our building sites all across Uganda. For Guya Guya the rain has been no friend and the pictures show the determination of a community as they face miserable days.

diggingouttruck(2)_GuyaGuya_October2015

This is one of the many trucks that have gotten stuck on the muddy roads. Not only does this make for a long day of work, but it also means that sometimes, materials have to be unloaded and wash away.

To build a school in Uganda we have a unique approach. We raise the money here in the US and then through our Ugandan office, we hire local workers to build the schools. Before fundraising and building even begin, we form a contract with the local community. They donate the land and volunteer 15,000 hours towards the construction of the school. This helps to make the new school a point of pride in the community. BT did not just go in and drop a school on some land, the community helped build this place of learning. They dug the foundation, built up the walls, and even dug the latrines. Everyone gets involved.

digging the foundation

       When something like rain gets in the way, it seems like the determination to continue is just kicked into overdrive. It is amazing what the community does to make sure the school construction stays on track; from digging out trucks to continuing with the tasks that need to be completed.

latrine(3)_GuyaGuya_October2015

          The simple task of digging a latrine is made almost impossible by the flooding. And yet the community pulls together to continue building. This school is a place where their children will learn and grow and build themselves brighter futures.

So what are you building and under what circumstances? I have had my rainstorms here in Indy and from them have come strong bonds of friendship. Will it rain again? Of course, there will always be more rain. It is not the rain you have to worry about. It is your determination. My home church is going through a rainstorm. I can only hope they have the determination to push through and stay the course.

Tomorrows are built by the determined people of today. What kind of tomorrow are you building?

*Photos were taken by and belong to Building Tomorrow. *

One thought on “Raindrops Keep Fallin’ on my Head

Leave a Reply

